07 - 09 AUG |

Bennetts BSB Qualifying Practice to be tweaked for 2020 season

At a recent meeting between the teams and series organiser MSVR modification to the current Datatag Extreme Qualifying format was agreed.

After the three free practice sessions, the fastest six on the combined classification will be seeded direct to Q2.

Q1 – 15 minutes session, all riders with the exception of the six that are already seeded to Q2 take part. The first 12 will graduate to Q2.
Q2 – 15 minutes session, the first 12 from Q1 together with the six riders seeded from the free practices take part. The first 12 will graduate to Q3.
Q3 – 10 minutes session. The first 12 from Q2 take part.

Riders will be restricted to one dry Q stickered rear tyre per Q session. 

BSB Series Director, Stuart Higgs explained: "The three sessions (Q1/Q2/Q3) will be maintained with modifications designed to increase the purpose of the free practice sessions and to make Q1 and Q3 in particular an improved spectacle.

"In the case of Q1, currently the fastest riders set an initial time and then sit the rest of the session session out. This new format will give more teams and riders exposure in that session, whilst Q3 will be slightly longer with 12 riders on track deciding the grid positions for the first four rows for Race 1." 

All external sites will open in a new browser tab/window. MSVR does not endorse or warrant the content of external sites.

©2020 BSB / MotorSport Vision Racing
All rights reserved